The AMS Ten-Year Vision

The American Meteorological Society in 2010
A Vision for the 1st Decade of the 21st Century

Adopted by the AMS Council, 10 January 1999

The Society’s Ten-Year Vision Statement, provide in the link above, grew out of the Ten-Year Vision Study report, prepared by the Planning Commission during 1997 and 1998. The Executive Summary and full Report are provided below.

Ten-Year Vision Study: Executive Summary

Ten-Year Vision Study: Full Report

Mid-Term Review of 10-Year Vision (pdf)

As the implementation of the vision proceeds, the AMS membership is encouraged to read these materials and provide feedback by e-mailing comments to or by contacting one of the members of the committees described below.


New committees begin first phases of Ten-Year Vision implementation

The following committees have begun the first phases of developing implementation plans for some aspects of the Ten-Year Vision. Others will follow over the coming years.

Ad Hoc Committee on Meetings

This committee is charged with helping guide the Society’s efforts as it continues to analyze potential formats and structures and begins implementing pilot projects to test new ideas. The membership for this ad hoc committee is:

Chair: Roger M. Wakimoto, UCLA []
Marie Colton, Office of Naval Research
Charles A. Doswell, National Severe Storms Lab
Kerry Emanuel, M.I.T.
David Karoly, Monash University, Meteorology CRC
Cristina A. Kaufman, Colorado State University
Roger B. Lukas, University of Hawaii
Anthony J. Mostek, NWS, COMET
Joseph M. Pelissier, NWS
Richard D. Rosen, Atmospheric and Environmental Research, Inc.
Jimmie Smith, Alden Electronics
Joyce F. Strand, Univ. of California-Davis
Eric Wood, Princeton University

Analysis of AMS Meeting Formats

Financial Analysis of AMS Meetings — February 1999

Financial Analysis of 79th AMS Annual Meeting — March 1999

Final Report of the Ad Hoc Committee on Meetings — October 1999

Ad Hoc Committee on the Bulletin

The Bulletin has changed a great deal in the past decade. The AMS continues to get considerable positive feedback from the membership about the Bulletin, but we also hear suggestions for ways to improve it or expand the services provided to the community through it. The Executive Committee agreed that it is a good time to conduct a thorough review of the structure, content, and philosophy of the principal vehicle the Society uses for communication with its membership, particularly in view of the Ten-Year Vision Study. This committee is composed of

Chair: Bradley R. Colman, NWSFO-Seattle []

Phillip A. Arkin, Lamont-Doherty Observatory of Columbia Univ.
David D. Blaskovich, Silicon Graphics, Inc.
Andrew C. Humphrey Jr., WRC-TV
Richard Larsen, Commodities Development Services
Walter A. Lyons, FMA Research, Inc.
Linda O. Mearns, NCAR
Richard E. Orville, Texas A&M Univ.
H. Thomas Rossby, University of Rhode Island
Soroosh Sorooshian, The University of Arizona
Louis W. Uccellini, NWS/NOAA/NCEP
John C. Wyngaard, The Pennsylvania State University

Ad Hoc Committee On Member Services

The Ten-Year Vision anticipates substantial growth in the membership of the Society, with even greater diversity of backgrounds and occupations than today, as the applications of the atmospheric and related sciences grow over the next decade. Given also that the membership, speaking through the latest membership survey, clearly indicated its wishes for the Society to be more inclusive, there is a compelling need to study a wide range of issues associated with membership in the Society. These include identifying what new services will be necessary for which segments of the Society, and how to develop and pay for them. This committee, which is charged with studying these issues and developing guidance, is made up of the entire Planning Commission plus other individuals who can bring their experience to the discussions. The complete committee is composed of

Chair: Charles L. Hosler, The Pennsylvania State University []
Raymond J. Ban, The Weather Channel []
Louis J. Boezi, Atmospheric Science Advisors, LLC []
James N. Cooper, GTE Information Systems Division []
Mary M. Glackin, National Weather Service []
John A. Jannuzzi, NWS []
James R. Mahoney, The IT Group Inc. []
Maria Pirone, Weather Services International []
Eugene M. Rasmusson, University of Maryland []
Robert T. Ryan, WRC-TV []
Scott C. Sheridan, University of Delaware []
Joseph P. Sobel, AccuWeather, Inc. []
Sorosh Sorooshian, University of Arizona [soroosh@hwr.Arizona.EDU]
Paul D. Try, International GEWEX Project Office []

© 1999 American Meteorological Society