The Kenneth C. Spengler Award

The Kenneth C. Spengler Award


The Kenneth C. Spengler Award is presented to an individual, team, or organization whose efforts have contributed to the growth of the weather, water, and climate enterprise while materially fostering a sense of community and creating synergistic linkages among the public, private, and academic sectors, as well as the user community.

Nominations are considered by a committee comprised of the Commissioner of the Weather, Water, and Climate Enterprise, the chairs of the Commission's Boards, two members of the Commission Steering Committee selected by the Commissioner, and the President and President-Elect who both shall serve as voting, ex-officio members. The committee makes a recommendation for final approval by AMS Council.

Nomination Process

Thank you for your interest in submitting a nomination! AMS membership is not required to submit an award nomination. Nominations are due by 1 May. The nominator is responsible for uploading the entire nomination package.


  • citation (25 word maximum)
  • bibliography (if appropriate) (3 page maximum)
  • nomination letter (3 page maximum)
  • nominee Curriculum Vitae (if appropriate) (2 pages maximum)
  • three (3) letters of support (2 page maximum each)

Kenneth Spengler, (1915-2010)

Dr. Spengler was executive director of the AMS from 1946 to 1988, leading the Society at a time when membership surged from 2,000 to about 10,000. In 1958, he negotiated the acquisition of the current AMS Headquarters building at 45 Beacon Street in Boston.